This Award Programme originated in the United Kingdom in 1956 as the Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme (DEAS). The aim was to help young people bridge the gap between adolescence and adulthood, smoothly. Introduced in India in 1962, today it is called the International Award for Young People (IAYP).

It aims to encourage young people to achieve their full growth potential within the framework of Indian Society, and to improve their moral, social and intellectual well-being. The Programme also inculcates and encourages “leadership” qualities.

The objective is also to motivate young people, aged 14 to 25 years, and involve them in a balanced programme of voluntary self-development activities, to take them through potentially difficult periods between adolescence and adulthood.

The basic structure of the Award consists of 4 mandatory sections- Service, Adventurous Journey, Skills, and Physical Recreation. Participants must complete the four mandatory sections to receive an award. ( Considering our long association with IAYP, also known as the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award, in 2010 we setup the Welham Boys’ School Youth Engaging Society (YES) Centre). The YES Centre will help to make the programme available to all young people in the 14-25 age groups who wish to take up the challenge and do not have access to it from their school or college, without any form of discrimination. Students may enroll with the Yes Centre for starting the Award Programme or completing the Award journey which they started earlier.

Awards - 2019

1 Aryan Singhal 389 KA XII Yes Silver Jan-2019
2 Aditya Singh Parmar 683 GA X Yes Silver Oct-2019
3 Kartikey Agarwal 393 CA XII Yes Silver Feb-2019
4 Vansh Dugar 400 CA XII Yes Silver Mar-2019
5 Shreyansh Jindal 942 JA XI Yes Silver Apr-2019
6 Shoaib Ahmed 795 CA XII Yes Silver Feb-2019
7 Ishan Kapoor 933 KA Xl Yes Silver Sep-2019
8 Suryaveer Singh 486 CA X Yes Silver May-2019
9 Shreyansh Agarwal 413 KA XI Yes Silver Sep-2019
10 Rohan Agrawal 961 JA XI Yes Silver Aug-2019
11 Mayank Mool Chandani 958 GA XI Yes Silver Sep-19
12 Sarthak Tayal 351 GA XlI Yes Silver May-2019
13 Argh Gupta 674 GA X Yes Bronze May-2019
14 Agastya Raj Pahwa 594 CB IX Yes Bronze Aug-2019
15 Divyansh Makheeja 629 JB IX Yes Bronze Aug-2019
16 Soham Agarwal 697 CA X Yes Bronze Sep-2019
17 Raghav Ramesh 591 GB IX Yes Bronze Jul-2019
18 Vishal Kumar Gupta 589 KB IX Yes Bronze Oct-2019
19 Chetan Chaudhary 567 CA X Yes Bronze Sep-2019
20 Devesh Didwania 508 GA X Yes Bronze Sep-2019
21 Devesh Mittal 969 GA X Yes Bronze Feb-2019
22 Raman Ghotra Singh 501 CA X Yes Bronze Apr-2019
23 Ansh Agarwal 672 KA X Yes Bronze Aug-2019
24 Vansh Agarwal 673 KA X Yes Bronze Aug-2019
25 Soorryam Goyal 678 CA X Yes Bronze Apr-2019
26 Abhanav Garg 688 KA X Yes Bronze Jul-2019
27 Ashutosh 531 GA X Yes Bronze Jul-2019
28 Rishabh Mishra 695 KA X Yes Bronze Jun-2019
29 Raghav Ramesh 591 GA X Yes Bronze Jun-2019
30 Samyak Jain 503 GA X Yes Bronze Aug-2019
31 Rudransh Agarwal 505 KA X Yes Bronze Jun-2019
32 Yuvraj Gambhir 549 CA X Yes Bronze May-2019
Total = 32 Awards       12 Silver 20 Bronze